The Jazz Committee...
the bandsthe musicianshome pagethe clubsthe recordstime linegallerydiscographiesodds + endslinks
The Jazz Committee...
The Jazz Committee (c1959)
The Jazz Committee (c1959)
Bert Courtley, Eddie Harvey, Don Rendell, Pete Blannin, John Dougan.

Bert Courtley...xxxxxxEddie Harvey...xxxxxxDon Rendell...

The Jazz Committee was a quintet featuring Don Rendell (tenor sax) and Bert Courtley (trumpet), and in effect was the Don Rendell Sextet after the departure of Ronnie Ross. It was active in 1958/9 and was a popular club band. They came third in the Melody Makers readers poll in 1959 and 1960, on both occasions they came behind Humphrey Lyttelton's band and the Jazz Makers.
Towards the end of the group's life Bobby Wellins replaced Don Rendell although he did not record with them and then Bert Courtley began depping with the Ted Heath Band before joining them permanently. The band had only one record date, the titles recorded being issued on two EPs.
Jazz Committee - March 24th, 1959 (Decca DFE6587)
Bert Courtley (tp), Don Rendell (ts), Eddie Harvey (p), Pete Blannin (b), John Dougan (d).
The Minutes*/Founder Member*/Board Meeting*.
(*Vocalion CD - Don Rendell - Playtime)

Jazz Committee - March 24th, 1959 (Decca DFE6602)
Bert Courtley (tp), Don Rendell (not*) (ts), Eddie Harvey (p), Pete Blannin (b), John Dougan/Eddie Taylor* (d).
Jones/Tenderley/Bertrands Bugle*.

See also Jazz group runs its own clubs...

This page was last updated during September, 2014.
Any comments welcomed, please click on email below...